VMware Cloud Community
xalex75
Contributor
Contributor

New ESX implementation: which SAN should I choose?

Hi everybody.

I'm planning to build an ESX infrastructure and I'm contacting some suppliers to get offers.

I already have the servers (Dell Poweredge 2950 III), so I just need ESX license and storage. Each supplier has a different brand about SAN.

The 3 different SAN are:

DELL MD3200i

HP MSA2312i

NETAPP FAS2020

Each one is equipped with double controller.

I've been looking for some comparison online but I didn't find useful informations.

I'm sure that all 3 are excellent devices, but I nees to choose one, and I would like to be sure to make the best choice.

I'm still waiting for NETAPP's cost, so now I just want to understand which one is better for my pourposes and later I will think about price.

If someone can help... thanks in advance.

Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
20 Replies
piaroa
Expert
Expert

I have extensive experience with the FAS2020, and I can tell you it's an excellent filer, for FC, NFS, etc.

Don't know about costs, but I can tell you it performs very well in a medium sized environment and it's pretty reliable.

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!
golddiggie
Champion
Champion

Also consider the EqualLogic PS6000E array (or any of the PS6000 arrays)... It's also a dual RAID controller, dual network controller (4 ports each), and 16 spindle array. Since you're going with Dell servers, you could probably get better pricing (through a good VAR) by going that route (Dell servers and storage usually makes the manufacturer happier to give more program dollars up)...

VMware VCP4

Consider awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers.

0 Kudos
xalex75
Contributor
Contributor

Hi.