VMware Cloud Community
JFritsch
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Maximum # of ESX hosts mapped to a single LUN

I have a 1.9TB LUN presented from an IBM SVC to several ESX/ESXi clusters which include versions 3.5(ESX), 4.1(ESXi) and 5.0(ESXi).  I read that 3.5 has a 32 Host to LUN "recommended" limit.

I'm looking for more detail about this number.  Does this apply only to the number of 3.5 hosts that can see the datastore or all ESX hosts combined.  And why is it recommended vs a hard limit?  We're trying to set up one LUN mapped to as many ESX clusters/hosts as we can in order to support a mass migration to a new environment.

I'm pretty new to the VMWare world so please excuse me if I'm not clear about what I'm asking or have not included other pertinent information.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I dont think its a contradiction at all.

It says a given host can have up to 256 LUNs.  A given volume (VMFS) can be accessed by up to 64 hosts.

They are 2 totally different scenarios.

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RParker
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

JFritsch wrote:

I'm looking for more detail about this number.  Does this apply only to the number of 3.5 hosts that can see the datastore or all ESX hosts combined.  And why is it recommended vs a hard limit?  We're trying to set up one LUN mapped to as many ESX clusters/hosts as we can in order to support a mass migration to a new environment.

It's not a SAN limitation it's an ESX limitation by cluster.  Technically 3.5 cannot share data with ESX 5.0 hosts, because the VMFS will not be compatible... unless you use existing VMFS with ESX 5.0 hosts..

But the limit is for ESX, so since you have mix of 3.5 and 5.0, then the limit is because of the VMFS version, 32 3.5 hosts is the limit, 256 ESX 5.0 is the limit, 3.5 cannot share more than 32.