VMware Cloud Community
alainrussell
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

MD3000i - Disk Groups and RAID

Hi,

I'm REALLY new to virtualization and currently setting up our new gear. We've got 3 x Dell R610 servers and a MD3000i SAN with dual Dell 6224 switches for redundancy.

One thing I have noticed is that people are pretty vocal on all sorts of configuration options .. apart from RAID setup and Disk configuration - so here I am asking for some advice. We're a Web agency and host mainly PHP/MySQL built apps - eCommerce, Email marketing etc. At the moment we've got our RAID setup as follows:

4 Disks in a RAID 10

10 Disks in a RAID 10

We'll use the 4 disk group for OS & log files and the 10 disks for Database/Web files.

We have 1 hot spare drive (dual controller San)

Is this a performance oriented setup ? Will MySQL and Web files be ok on a 10 disk RAID 10 ?

We're not too concerned on storage economy - more performance.

Any help welcomed and much appreciated !

Thanks

Alain

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

As long as you have a reasonable RAID card, which you seem to, quality of PHP and mySQL code will be a performance limiter long before RAID disk layouts will be.

How much consolidation are you looking to achieve? If those ten disks in RAID10 end up with you running 500 VMs on one LUN, this amount of IO is unlikely to perform well in any configuration. RAID10 is generally the highest performing RAID level, so there's no reason it wouldn't be "alright" for just about any configuration.

Make sure your switches are setup according to recommended practices too, since you seem be involving iSCSI, the networking configuration can also pack a reasonable performance hit.

alainrussell
Enthusiast
Enthusiast