VMware Cloud Community
rpayne1322
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Insufficient space on datastore

Hi,

I've just started at this shop and I am completely new to VMware, and, Blade configurations. We are running HS22's Blades and have a DS3200 for our SAS storage. I've installed ESX 4.0 on the blades. We added the two 73 GB of internal drives (Mirrored) to the blades for ESX install to boot from because at this time it is not supported on the DS3200.

I'm trying to get the guest operating system installed (Windows server 2003 ENT), but when I create the new Virtual machine and map the LUN we are planning to use for the OS / SQL disk, it says I have available 135.5 GB. I'm not sure how much overheard VMware needs for its files though on the datastore.. I tried to make the datastore size 132 GB, but the VM would not start with the error "Insufficient disk space on datastore" I tried 130 (leaving 5.45 GB free), and had the same problem again. Is there a rule of thumb for how much space to leave on the LUN for VMware overhead? I read on a post here 20%? If that is the case we will probably have to order more drives in order to meet the space requirement configuration for the project we are working on. On this particular LUN they want two 36 GB Partitions and one 73 GB partition, and we are mirroring two 146 GB drives, after the Array creation (RAID 1) of the two 146 GB drives we only have 136.23, then down to 135.5 after VMware provisioned 500 some odd MB when adding the storage device to the System. Unfortunately, the project already has the 12 drive slots filled for the creation of the three VM's, so we would have to buy another DS3200 to add-on.