VMware Cloud Community
PV04
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi Hosts Cannot See HP P4500 SAN LUNs?

Hi All,

I am fairly new to the world of vmware, but basically my current setup is below:

3 x ESXi Hosts running vSphere 5 (2 x Prod & 1 x DR Site with Replication)

2 x Node HP4500 Virtualisation SAN with approx 7.2TB of Storage (Raid 5)

2 x 10gbe Connections from Hosts to SANs

vSwitch Configs:

1 x vMotion vSwitch (1Gbe)

1 x Management vSwitch (1Gbe)

4 x VM Network vSwitch (1Gbe)

2 x Storage (10gbe)

I have configured the Storage vSwitch so that I have both Active-Active  w Route based Load Balancing.  I have also managed to create my Storage Adapter, and have setup the Discovery method to use Dynamic, with an IP Address of one of the SANs set.

However, my ESX Hosts still do not see the LUNS....Is there something I am missing?  Any urgent replies are most welcome!

PV04.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
TedH256
Expert
Expert

well you need to use the VIP address as the discovery address - not one of the P4000 VSA nodes. That could be the problem, perhaps?

Otherwise, it would likely either:

1)a network problem - you can test whether the hosts can ping the iSCSI storage addresses, and you can also do a 'vmkping" to test specifically the vmkernel ports that are iSCSI enabled

2)did you create hosts in the P4000 CMC using the correct iSCSI iqn for each hosts software iSCSI adapter?

3)did you create the volumes and then present them to the hosts?

DavidKlee
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Like the previous post said, check the simple stuff. Are you using CHAP authentication? Is the VIP being used instead of the individual nodes? Are the hosts authenticated to connect via iSCSI IQN name?

David Klee | Founder and Chief Architect | Heraflux Technologies | dklee@heraflux.com
PV04
Contributor
Contributor