VMware Cloud Community
nullian
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Does a NAS do the job?

Hello!

I'm looking for some help on storages since i'm new to this :smileysilly:

We are thinking about increasing our storage capacity for our 2 ESX Hosts (who currently only have local disk storage). What i want to ask is if a NAS like e.g the Iomega Storecenter ix4-200r ( https://iomega-eu-en.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/iomega_eu_en.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=21841 ) would be to slow to serve as a storage for 2 ESX hosts running ~7-10 VMs (some small ones, one SQLServer for our CRM, AD Server, a Terminal Server).

Both servers have Gbit NICs and a SCSI adapter to connect external SCSI solutions, so maybe someone knows of an alternativ thats not too expensiv (lets say 3-4k) that works well or can point me into a direction Smiley Wink

I'm not all that happy with the NAS solution since most of them i have looked up aren't expandable for future upgrades, but than again i'm a noob 😕

0 Kudos
15 Replies
bulletprooffool
Champion
Champion

Ideally you want one of 3 things:

iScsi

FC

NFS

there are multitudes of solutions . . .you could even use an appliance like openfiler or freenas, but 4k is a tight budget for a commercial grade solution.

One day I will virtualise myself . . .
0 Kudos
JayStone
Contributor
Contributor

We recently tried an IX4-100 via NFS to an ESX 4 host and the performance was terrible, we ended up returning the unit. We were running the VMs themselves on internal storage and had planned to use the IX4 as file server storage on one of the VMs. Interestingly enough, performance via CIFS(or whatever its called) direct from a Windows server/workstation to the IX4 was about twice as fast, but still slow Supposedly the IX4-200r is a bit beefier (more cache), but I'd make sure you have an option to return the device if it doesn't work out.

nullian
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Yeah the 4k limit gives me a hard time thinking about a solution i can be satisfied with...