VMware Cloud Community
not_today88
Contributor
Contributor

Datastore Filling Automatically

Hi All, 

I'm fairly new to VMware and have searched for similar questions to no avail. My issue is when I create a new thick provisioned datastore and then go into the VM settings to increase the disk space, the datastore automatically expands to nearly 100% capacity, rendering it unusable until I provision more space. For some reason the .vmdk file appears to be doing this, but I don't understand why. This is a brand new VM with no data stored on it yet. There are no snapshots either. The server was just built yesterday. 

A) How can I correct this so I don't waste space?

B) How can I prevent this from happening in the first place? When comparing other multiple drive VM's, the drives are also thick provisioned, lazy zeroed but they don't seem to have this issue. 

Stupid question, but in Windows disk management, it still shows plenty of free space because it's not been used. Does this mean the server will still function okay as long as there is free space available on the datastore? Apparently what is shown as used in vSphere 6.5 and Windows is not the same or related. This is a new SQL server so it's critical that it be reliable. Thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Can you be clear on the terms in your description of the issue, I'd suggest using these terms:

Datastore = the unit of storage used by ESXi - a VMFS partition or NFS volume on whatever underlying physical storage you use

Virtual Disk = the VMDK file for a VM - this is the thing that you define in vSphere as thick or thin provisioned if using VMFS

Guest Disk = the view that Windows has of the Virtual Disk (as seen in Disk Management)

Guest Partition = the Windows partition inside the Guest Disk (as seen in Disk Management)