VMware Cloud Community
brsolutions
Contributor
Contributor

Connecting to an EMC CX700

Hi,

I'm new to all of these, some please bare wtih me. I have an EMC Clariion CX700 fibre channel SAN hooked up to my new Dell R710 via two Brocade 415 host bus adapters. This is direct connect, as I don't have a switch (and I'm only planning on having this server attached to the CX700). During the installation of VSphere 4.1, I specified the drivers for the HBAs, and they do show up in my list of storage adapters. On the Navisphere side (I am running Navisphere 6.24.3.2.00), no matter what I do, I cannot see the hosts. I've rebooted the SAN and server, and still nothing. Does anyone have any ideas as to what I should try to get the CX700 to see the HBAs?

Thanks,

Chris

0 Kudos
16 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Are you sure you have good link to the hosts? Do the hosts see the Clariion targets? Do you have anything mapped to the hosts?

--Matt
VCP, VCDX #52, Unix Geek, Storage Nerd

9773_9773.gif

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
0 Kudos
brsolutions
Contributor
Contributor

As far as I can tell, I have good links. Link lights are on and reflecting the appropriate link speed. The HBAs do not see the Clariion targets, and I do not have anything mapped to them.

0 Kudos
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Try manually mapping something to the HBAs (without doing via the NaviAgent discovered stuff)....you can mask directly to the WWPNs.

--Matt

9773_9773.gif

0 Kudos
brsolutions
Contributor
Contributor

Okay that's a bit over my head. By manually mapping, I should be doing this through the Navisphere client by putting in the WWPNs for the HBAs and seeing if they attach?

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

I don't want to stop your efforts in trying to make this work, however I hope you are aware that the CX700 is not supported for ESX 4.x. It's supported for up to ESX 3.5 U5 and only in "FC Switched" mode.

André

0 Kudos
brsolutions
Contributor
Contributor