VMware Cloud Community
DanC111
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Adding SAN Storage to Cluster

Hey, Im new to VMWare, so I apologize if this seems like a silly question to some.

I've got ESX 4.1 hosts in a cluster, and the hosts are connected to my SAN. I can add storage via each host, and create a datastore, but it shows as a local datastore, which I assume means I get no HA for VMs on that LUN.

How can I add storage to the cluster, so that it's available to all hosts?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

The way Anton has described it is the way it works - if the LUN on your SAN is presented to each host it will show up - I have never created a cluster with just a single host so I can not speak to what how it will display in the vSphere client - the way I would check it is look at the configuration tab for your host and check the storage adapters and if the LUN is hsowing up under the FC HBA than it is on the SAN -

Since there is no data on the LUN I would go ahead and expose it to another host - the host does not have to be part of the cluster to do this - and see if the description changes.

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
15 Replies
piaroa
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

What kind of SAN connection have your hosts? FC, iSCSI ? Are your LUNs shared and properly configured?

With local storage you won't be able to use HA, VMotion ,etc.

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!

If this post has been helpful/solved your issue, please mark the thread and award points as you see fit. Thanks!
0 Kudos
DanC111
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution