VMware Cloud Community
ernique
Contributor
Contributor

3PAR Management Plug In for vSphere

I am new to the world of 3PAR and VMWARE. I installed the 3PAR plug in for vsphere and I get the Website cannot display the web page error 500. Has anyone seen this or come across this issuse?

Thanks

ecb

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Morten_Dalgaard
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi.

Sadly i do not know the solution to this problem, but i have it as well.

VMware vCenter 4.1 on Windows Server 2003 x64, and 3par plugin 1.1.0 P01.

Sadly 3par support seems limited to 3par support documents which is pretty much limited to release notes. If you like googling for answers to issues, 3par is definitely not the storage system to get.

0 Kudos
ernique
Contributor
Contributor

Yes 3PAR support is not the greatest. I upgraded to 2.1.0 and it works on Windows 2008 with no issues.

0 Kudos
HPstorageGuy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

DISCLAIMER: As my user name suggests, I work for HP Storage - and we of course acquired 3PAR about a year ago.

I asked one of my field guys and he responded with this:

For vSphere 4.1 do not install the 3PAR plug-in version 1.1.  Install the 2.1 version instead and you will be ok. I think the 1.1 version still ships when you order our plug-in and that’s why people stumble with this.

Sounds like you've already solved your issue - but let me know if you did not.

0 Kudos
Morten_Dalgaard
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I've also solved the issue by installing 2.1 instead.

However, i am now trying to get the vSphere Host explorer service working, but it doesn't, and the log fills up with:

[2011-07-05 23:35:33.0911 (001272.000004)] [VMTpdHostExplorerSvc.Worker_DoWork [Info]Generating Hostinfo..
[2011-07-05 23:35:45.0268 (001272.000004)] [VMTpdHostExplorerSvc.Worker_DoWork [Info]Unexpected exception in Worker thread
[2011-07-05 23:35:45.0268 (001272.000004)] [Util.PrintException [Error]Exception : The request failed with HTTP status 400: Bad Request.