VMware {code} Community
admssm
Contributor
Contributor

Script to retrieve vm info from esxi

Hi,

im trying to create a script, which would get basic (IP, MAC, Hostname) info from each vm running on each esxi. I need to run it in Linux. Since im new to this im not sure if i did all the steps correctly..:

I downloaded/installed:

VMware-vSphere-Perl-SDK-5.1.0-780721.x86_64.tar

this way i can execute command to get at least simple info:

esxcli --server x.x.x.x --username user --password passwd --formatter=csv network vm list >>/tmp/rrr.csv

however, this doesnt run on older esx versions...

Please let me know - correct me how to proceed with the script-commands

Thx

0 Kudos
12 Replies
stumpr
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

What's the error?  How old is your ESXi version? 

Reuben Stump | http://www.virtuin.com | @ReubenStump
0 Kudos
admssm
Contributor
Contributor

My esxi is 4.0. I managed to find a pl script which gives me Hostname and Mac ,which i can use as "unique identifier" for further database join queries. Im running these commands on Centos 6.3.

Here are the commands:

./vmmac.pl --server x.x.x.1 --username user --password passwd >> /tmp/API/Esx_x.x.x..1.csv
./vmmac.pl --server x.x.x.2 --username user --password passwd >> /tmp/API/Esx_x.x.x..2.csv

etc...

What i cant figure out is how to put these commands into *.sh or into *.pl script, so instead of typing each commands separately, i would set the IP once, and scheduled it in cron. Can you please help me with that..? Attached is the mentioned pl script

Thank you.

0 Kudos
stumpr
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Wouldn't something like the following do the trick (simply):

#!/bin/bash

for server in 172.16.254.51 172.16.254.52

do

./vmmac.pl --server $server --username user --password passwd >> /tmp/API/Esx_$server.csv

done