VMware {code} Community
svijay
Contributor
Contributor

Script need to deploy a VM from a template

Hi All,

greetings !

I am pretty new to vmware,  It would be great if any of you could provide me with a Script to Deploy VM from an existing VM template ?

The VM templates resides on a ESXserver part of a DATACENTER , the Datacenter is on a VC(virtual center server) & the script should be able to handle deploying the Template to a different Datacenter under the same VC & also have provision to specify the <datastore> for deploying VM.

Thanks in advance !

Regards,

Vijay

0 Kudos
12 Replies
HaraldJensas
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

I wrote this script for vSpehere 4.1 last year to automatically redeploy a pool of Citrix VMs from a template.

Tried to make it generic, with a lot of options, so I belive it should work for you too. Smiley Happy

Best Regards

Harald

0 Kudos
svijay
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Harald,

That was a pretty quick, Let me try your script, I will ask for more help if i am stuck Smiley Happy

regards,

Vijay

0 Kudos
HaraldJensaas
Contributor
Contributor

How dit it go?

0 Kudos
Ganapathy
Contributor
Contributor

is it a PowerShelll Script?...

I am unable to execute thru PowerGUI...

0 Kudos
HaraldJensaas
Contributor
Contributor

This is a Perl script.

0 Kudos
Ganapathy
Contributor
Contributor

Could you assist how can i run this script...I downloaded perl software from activescript site...

Let me know how i have to run it...Is it worked for VMware 4.1 version

0 Kudos
vLarus
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

This should help:

http://www.kasraeian.com/2012/05/template-deploy-script/

Good luck.

vmice.net
0 Kudos
Ganapathy
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Larus Hjartarson,

Excellent, i am able to deploy machine...this helps me a lot...

I am plannign to incorporate few things...

1. Assign IP to 1 or more NIC according to our requirement

2. Join Domain with our credential