VMware Cloud Community
13OR
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vsphere replication 8.3

hello all.i am new with vmware i am working on a project and would like to ask for guidance:

i have purchase vphere essentials plus licenses and my architecture comprise of:
-Two Esxi 7.0 hosts within a datacenter and they all run under one vcenter 7.0 instance
-i have managed to deploy 3 VMs on one host successfully and they are working well

i want to realize a source and target replication between the two esxi hosts from a single vcenter using vsphere replication 8.3 which i have installed using OVF file on both esxi machine and registered to the vcenter. the set up had completed successfully which means i have two replication servers on my recovery site interface.when i try initiate replication between the two hosts,the VMs is only created on destination datastore i specified but it does appear on vm list on the second esxi host.
any one with work around on this in order to realise a complete replication?

thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ashilkrishnan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Thank you for sharing the screenshot.

Based on the screenshot, I see the running VMs are listed under HQ -->esxiprod1 hosts

DR site does not have any other VMs except the add-on VR server

This is an expected behavior. VMs will be listed under DR host only when a recovery is performed. Until then, VM files will just remain offline in the datastore.

Hope that helps

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
ashilkrishnan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi

Please correct me if I am wrong about the configuration:

1. Single vCenter with vSphere replication

2. Two ESXi hosts where one of them has the source running VM and 2nd host datastore is used as a target for replication. Assuming the target datastore is local to this host and not shared between these two hosts.