VMware Cloud Community
gommog
Contributor
Contributor

Vsphere replication configuration not displayed in web client

I have been using vsphere replication now for a couple of months, this morning i noticed that the option for replication was not showing in the home page of the web client. I first tried to restart the vcenter server assuming this was something to do with a service not running, on reboot i still didn't see the option. We are replicating between 2 esxi 5.1 hosts both managed by the same vcenter server and have 2 replication appliances (one on each host), i rebooted both appliances. One rebooted fine but the other is asking for a root password for login, i entered the root password used during setup (this is a standard password i use for many network services) but this was not accepted. I'm now at the stage where replication is showing as an option in the web console but none of my jobs are displaying.

Has anyone come across this issue before? I can't recreate the jobs as if i try to do so i get the message Unexpected status code: 503, someone please help.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
mvalkanov
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi,

If you are using one vCenter Server, when you must not have more than 1 VR 5.1 appliance in the same vCenter Server inventory.

The VRMS inside the appliance registers as extension to the vCenter Server. Attempting to run a second such appliance will overwrite the extension configuration of the first VRMS. You don't need VR appliance at the source site (if you are using single vCenter Server topology). The source ESXi sends the replication traffic to the VR server at the target site.

It looks like, you deployed and started the second VR appliance, and its VRMS removed all replication configurations done by the first VRMS.