VMware Cloud Community
cfsullivan
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

DR Testing When Source VM Powered On

I am just beginning to look into vSphere Replication as a DR solution for a few servers.  We need to be able to test recovery of these VMs in our DR drills.  All of our hosts are controlled by one vCenter server and one of the hosts is attached to an isolated subnet where we can recover VMs for DR testing.  The same host can be attached to the production subnets for a real DR scenario.

The problem seems to be that if I were to go with vSphere Replication as a solution I may not be able to test it in our environment, according to what I read in this guide:         

http://www.vmware.com/files/pdf/techpaper/Introduction-to-vSphere-Replication.pdf        

It says: "The replica cannot be powered on and recovered if the original virtual machine is still reachable and is itself still

powered on. To continue, the primary copy of the virtual machine must be unreachable by vCenter Server or

powered off."

Unless I am misunderstanding this, because the vCenter server will be aware of the prod VM as well as the target, it will not allow me to start up the target (DR VM) for testing.  If this is true, how are other people testing recoveries?

Thanks.

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mvalkanov
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi,

Please see the following topic in the official docs -  http://pubs.vmware.com/vsphere-55/topic/com.vmware.vsphere.replication_admin.doc/GUID-94162EDE-155F-...

There is option (checkbox in the UI) to not replicate the latest changes from the source site. So even, if the source VM is still powered on, only warning is displayed and recovery wizard allows you to continue.

This option is also present in VR 5.1.0.1 and VR 5.1.1. Perhaps the guide referenced above missed to mention it.

If using SRM on top of VR, test failover and test cleanup are standard operations for Recovery Plans.