VMware {code} Community
VBDINO
Contributor
Contributor

script to change drs mode to manual and to automatic

I was wondering if among the programmers in this forum, if there is someone that could freely share a command line program that could set the DRS to manual or to automatic or even to semi-automatic.

Thanks

0 Kudos
10 Replies
hrobinson
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Here is a VI Perl Script to configure DRS.

Please provide feedback (either positive or negative) if you find it useful. Note that we are planning a DRS workshop in the next few weeks to explain how many common tasks can be scripted.

Usage:

drsConfig.pl

list or edit DRS settings for a cluster

--server ] Automation level

\[--enable] Enable DRS

\[--disable] Disable DRS

0 Kudos
VBDINO
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks, I will surely try it next tuesday, when I get back to work.

Thanks again

0 Kudos
VBDINO
Contributor
Contributor

I was hoping to be able to run it, but I since I have no knowledge of perl, I failed.

If it is not to much troubles for you, can you tell me what I need to install and configure on my virtual center server, in order to use it.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
hrobinson
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Using perl has nothing to do with the configuring the Virtual Center server. The good news is that we will be releasing a beta version of the VI Perl Toolkit in the next few weeks which should make it easier to you to install and run the supplied sample app.

I would suggest that you install that beta when available.

H

0 Kudos
VBDINO
Contributor
Contributor

Hi, could you post a new version that includes the vmotionrate setting. After using the current script for a while, I realized that it is best to set the level to 5 rather than disabling DRS. So if that is possible to make such modification, I would appreciate.

Thanks

Richard

0 Kudos
hrobinson
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Here you go.

Please tell me if it meets your requirement.

Rate is set with the --rate <number>