VMware {code} Community
lucassrg
Contributor
Contributor

*queryPerf method is returning old data or no data*

Hello everybody,

This is my first project with VMWare API and I'm facing some difficult to work with this API.

My application needs to get the following performance statistics from all virtual machine which I have installed in a ESX server:

- cpu.usage

- cpu.usagemgz

- mem.usage

- net.usage

- disk.usage

Actually, I need to get the current state of each Virtual machine for those metrics.

What I'm doing is the following:

1 - I'm creating a PropertyFilterSpec object, (I created all TransversalSpec objects first) .

2 - Then I'm running the following code to get all virtual machines (ok, there are more code that is not relevant for my question at this moment):

PropertyFilterSpec pfSpec=initializePropertyFilterSpec(); // transversal objects are ok.

ObjectContent]] ocary = service.retrieveProperties(sic.getPropertyCollector(), new PropertyFilterSpec]]);

for (ObjectContent oc : ocary)

{

for (DynamicProperty d : oc.getPropSet())

{

if ("name".equals(d.getName()))

{

//save the virtual machine instance and call as "myHost"

myHost = oc.getObj();

}

}

}

3 - Then, I'm calling the queryAvailablePerfMetric(getPerfManager(), myHost, null, null, null) method in order to retrieve all counterIds associated with my virtual machine.

4 - After that, I'm calling queryPerfCounter(getPerfManager(), counterIds) method in order to apply a filter, because I don't need all statistics. I just need a small set (cpu.usage, net.usage...).

5 - With a set of counterIds and PerfCounterInfo objects, I created a list of PerfMetricId objects:

List<PerfMetricId> myList = new ArrayList<PerfMetricId>();

for (Integer counterId : selectedCtrInfo.keySet()) {

PerfCounterInfo counterInfo = selectedCtrInfo.get(counterId);

PerfMetricId metric = new PerfMetricId();

metric.setCounterId(counterInfo.getKey());

metric.setInstance("");

myList.add(metric);

}