VMware {code} Community
ktemplar
Contributor
Contributor

listing of folders and its respective vms

Hi,

I am new at the programming site of VI3. Now I need your help!

How can I realize the relationship between folders and virtual machines, to get a list of folders and vms is no problem. But I need a list of all vms in its respective folders.

It should be looks like that:

Folder1:

vm1,vm3,vm5,...

Folder2:

vm2,vm4,vm6,...

I am waiting for your suggestions. Thanks.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
cpope
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I'd like to bump this as I am trying to figure out an easy way to do this as well. Anyone have a good example of how to do this?

0 Kudos
stumpr
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

I'd have to put some more time into getting the format in a style you want, but something like the attached script can get you started. Essentially you can recursively walk down the vmFolder from each Datacenter and print out the folders and vms. Problem is, a folder can contain another folder, which can contain more folders or vms. So you can get a nested tree.

Another option would be to just list all VMs and use the parent property to get the folder it's currently in....you could build a hash with a key = , then print out a list of VMs from each key. This of course wouldn't maintain the nested folder hierarchy. If you're interested in this option, let me know I can probably work up a quick script demonstrating that method as well.

I included a sample output from the script I attached to this post.

perl ListVMbyFolder.pl --username administrator --password #### --server ####
Datacenter: VMWLAB
  Folder: Discovered Virtual Machine
  Folder: Folder1
    Folder: Folder1.2
      Virtual Machine: VM1.2
    Virtual Machine: AVM
    Virtual Machine: VM1
  Folder: Folder2
    Virtual Machine: VM2

Reuben Stump | http://www.virtuin.com | @ReubenStump
0 Kudos
cpope
VMware Employee
VMware Employee