johnswb
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

VMinfo Script

Jump to solution

Hello all,

I'm in need of a script that will tell me what how much resources each VM is using. For example: testvm 2gig memory 15gig vmdk 30gig vmdk and so on.

I am new to scripting so go easy on me. I just know scripting will make life easier.

Hosts are on 3.5 and VC is on 2.5.

Thanks 4 any help.

Will Johnson VCP on VI3 / VI4 vSphere 5
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
akutz
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Change

use VMware::VIM2Runtime;

to

use VMware::VIRuntime;

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
16 Replies

Hi,

Following code will list memory and disk-usage. Remember to fix the first 3 lines with appropriate values for your Virtual Center.

$service-url="https://localhost/sdk";
$username="";
$password="";

use VMware::VILib;
use Data::Dumper;

Vim::login(service_url => $service_url, user_name => $username, password => $password);
my $vm_views = Vim::find_entity_views(view_type => "VirtualMachine" );

foreach(@$vm_views){

my $memory = $_->summary->config->memorySizeMB;
     print $_->name." ".$memory." mb Mem ";
     if (defined $_->guest->disk) {
            my $disk_len = @{$_->guest->disk};
            my $cnt = 0;
            while ($cnt < $disk_len) {
                if (defined $_->guest->disk->[$cnt]->capacity) {
                    print "Disk". $cnt ." ". int($_->guest->disk->[$cnt]->capacity / 1048576000) . " gb ";
                }
                else {
                    print "Disk". $cnt ." Not Known";
                }
                $cnt++;
           }
      }elsif(defined ($_->summary->config->numVirtualDisks)) {
           print "Antal virtuelle diske: ".$_->summary->config->numVirtualDisks;
      }
      print "\n";
}

Vim::logout();

Regards

Stefan

###############

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

johnswb
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Stefan,