VMware {code} Community
Hakime
Contributor
Contributor

Using html or C# to manage Virtual machines.

I currently have two options.

To either use html or C# to create a GUI that allows me to manage virtual machines.For example,turning it off.

I am not very familiar with C# but will give it a try.Currently I'm having a hard time creating the GUI with Visual Studios(C#).

I have already done a GUI using html (notepad).

Is there anywhere that I can refer to the codes for managing virtual machines using html.

I only managed to find the management codes in C#.

Is there by any chance I can merge the html & C# codes together to manage the VMs?

"http://www.codeproject.com/KB/library/VMWareTasks.aspx"

I'm unsure if this link is useful.

I don't have ESX server or Virtual Center server & VMware workstation.

All I have is the VI client.

I'm new to virtualization and will greatly appreciate any tips/pointers given.

Thanks.

I have attached a file of my GUI in html.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

Moved to the VI SDK forum.

Best regards,
Edward L. Haletky
VMware Communities User Moderator, VMware vExpert 2009, DABCC Analyst
====
Now Available on Rough-Cuts: 'VMware vSphere(TM) and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment'
Also available 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise'
SearchVMware Pro|Blue Gears|Top Virtualization Security Links|Virtualization Security Round Table Podcast

--
Edward L. Haletky
vExpert XIV: 2009-2023,
VMTN Community Moderator
vSphere Upgrade Saga: https://www.astroarch.com/blogs
GitHub Repo: https://github.com/Texiwill
0 Kudos
harkamal
Expert
Expert

VI Server Mgmt is webservice based, so it is language neutral. HTML is markup language and cannot leverage of VI's APIs available.

You could use any other language that you know -- asp/jsp/java/c#/vb.net