VMware {code} Community
tedmoyses
Contributor
Contributor

PHP + NuSoap TraversalSpec help

Hi,

I would really appreciate some help here. I am an expereinced OOPHP dev working for a datacentre with VMware Enterprise+ cloud.

I am using PHP and NuSoap to connect to vcenter, I can log in, get ServiceContent and query for some information successfully.

My issue is I have to find the names of all subfolders in a folder called 'End Users' - these subfolders represent each of our end users and contains their VMs.

I need the names of each of these subfolders as the name contains the end users customerID. If this ID matches my current customer ID (this is part of a self service portal) I can then query all their VMs and get some metrics to display.

I can get the 'End Users' Folder (using SearchIndex->findByInventoryPath) and the childEntity property (using propertyColector) but I do not want to have then query for each child as this folder has many children.

I need to be able to use traversalSpec to get me all the childrens(sub folders) names in one query, I can then iterate over to find CustomerID and do what I need.

HELP!

I cannot get traversalSpec to give me anything other than "Object not found". I am using NuSoap and have tried a few ways of forming the traversalSpec but not even sure if I have got this right.

My code so far - skipping login

$soapmsg = new soapval('_this', false, $serviceContent, false, false, array('type' => 'PropertyCollector'));
$soapmsg = 'Folder';
$soapmsg = 'childEntity';
$soapmsg = new soapval('obj', false, $endUsersFolder, false, false, array('type' => 'Folder'));
$soapmsg = true;

then call RetreiveProperties

This gets me the End Users Folder childEntity Property, but when I try to use traversalSpec by adding:

$soapmsg = array('name' => 'folderToChild', 'type' => 'Folder', 'skip' => false, 'path' => 'childEntity', 'selectSet' => array('name' => 'folderToChild'));

I get "ServerFaultCode: Object not found"