VMware {code} Community
babysham
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

CS1501 "No Overload Error" when trying to use MigrateVM_Task

This might be a newbie question as I am new to C#. I'm trying to make a Windows CLI that would allow someone to VMotion a VM similar to the sample VMPowerOPs command. I have used it as a template but everytime I try to invoke the MigrateVM_Task I get a CS1501/No Overload error from Visual C# 2005:

Error 4 No overload for method 'MigrateVM_Task' takes '4' arguments D:\Temp\VI-SDK\einstitution\VMotion\VMotion.cs 75 23 VMotion

The same code workes fine with the PowerOnVM_Task.

Any thoughts, directions, schools for learning C#, etc. would be appreciated. Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jrackliffe
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Looking at your code you still only have 4 params defined for a 5 param function. C# is not like VB where "optional" params could be left out of the function call. They still need to be represented by a null or proper value type.

Instead of...

taskmor = clientInfo.Connection.Service.MigrateVM_Task(vmmor, null, hostmor, VirtualMachineMovePriority.highPriority);

try...

taskmor = clientInfo.Connection.Service.MigrateVM_Task(vmmor, null, hostmor, VirtualMachineMovePriority.highPriority, null);

If that doesn't work because of the powerstate I would select one, but I think that will at least get you past the compiler error.

J

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
jrackliffe
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Well your method params for PowerOn and MigrateVM are different.

http://pubs.vmware.com/vi301/sdk/ReferenceGuide/index.html

You can look up the two headers.

A Migrate will take (the MOR of the VM to migrate, the MOR of the Pool to target, a Host MOR if this is not a DRS enabled cluster or standalone ESX, the VirtualMachineMovePriority, the VirtualMachinePowerState)