VMware Cloud Community
migfx
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Personal Project: Convert Linux host with VMs to vSphere Hypervisor

Hello

I've been using VMware Workstation for a few years both for personal and professional purposes.

I'd like to convert my Linux host with multiple virtual machines into a vSphere Hypervisor server with all my existing VMs and data.

I currently have an Ubuntu 10.10 desktop on which I run Workstation 8 to host multiple Linux VMs as a WebSphere Portal cluster (LDAP, DB2, ND, 2-Portal nodes). I also use it to host a VortexBox VM which contains my music collection. The audio files are not in a the .vmdk of the VortexBox, but are accessable via a folder share from the host. I also have several years worth of photos and documents on the host system.

The hardware consists of:

Asus M4A785TD-V Motherboard

Corsair XMS3 16GB

Intel PWLA8391GTBLK PRO/1000 GT Desktop Network Adapter

1 x Hitachi 1TB (empty)

1 x Seagate 160GB (photos, videos)

2 x Seagate 300GB (Ubuntu, music, data, VMs)

I'm very new to vSphere. All I've done is install vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi 5) to an 8GB USB drive on the above system and created a data store of the 1TB drive.

I've also installed vSphere Client on a Windows XP VM running on my MacBook; which I used to create the data store.

Can anyone provide some high level steps on how to proceed?

I do have an external hard drive on which I can copy the existing VMs to deploy to the vSphere host via Workstation 8.

My main concern is the best way to maintain my music/photo/video collection so that it is accessable by the VortexBox VM.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Miguel

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
scottyyyc
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

"Do I copy the converted VMs to another system so that I can deploy them into the ESXi box? Or is there a way to locate the converted VMs from the ESXi host (using vSphere Client) and deploy them?"