VMware Cloud Community
rondebbs
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hardware for esxi 5.5-6.7

First of all I want to apologize for my ignorance as I am new to VMware.  I got access to an old dell Poweredge 1950  server for my home lab.  Without checking the compatibility list I tried to  install esxi 6.7 from usb using Rufus.  Part way through it gagged with an error about the Intel Xeon E540 2.33 GHZ processors not compatible.  I  checked the list and  saw this server was  compatible with 5.5 but no  further.  So I downloaded and created  the  5.5  image  on  usb and  everything installed fine.  It was a little difficult to find the 5.5 client which made me start  wondering.  I'm setting up a lab environment to test out some simulators (storage) from Netapp, EMC etc.  Just basically to get familiar with management of different diskarrays etc.  I'm hoping all the  simulators will run on the  older 5.5.

But this rackable server sitting in my spare  room sounds  like  a jet  engine and it is extremely heavy and takes  a ton of floor space and will probably never run the newer VMware  versions.   Just wondering if anyone knows  of  a  good affordable workstation (vendor and model) or small server (used, ebay or something) that would run esxi 6.7.  I need 32+ GB of ram but don't need much compute power or disk  space as this is just for my small  home lab.  I'm hoping someone has  gotten  esxi  6.7 running on one of these smaller boxes and can share some info.  While I'm at  it I'll probably want to install and learn vserver as  well.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal

My recommendation would be to look for a 12th Gen Dell server on eBay as these can come fairly cheap. If you don't need much more RAM than 32, don't need beefy CPUs, and don't need internal storage, you could probably get one for a song.

While I'm at  it I'll probably want to install and learn vserver as  well.

I don't know what "vserver" is.

0 Kudos
rondebbs
Enthusiast
Enthusiast