VMware Cloud Community
devron55
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi and SBS 2008

I have a small company that utilizes 2 servers.  One is SBS 2008 and the second is our LoB with SQL and business apps.  The second server is quickly coming to the end of it's life and I was looking at replacing.  I have been using VMware Workstation for the last 8 months (happily) and wondered if ESXi Hypervisor would work for our servers.  The company has less than 10 employees and the sbs has our email and website and is the dc.

I guess I am wondering if it is possible to setup in this fashion.  There are some great manuals and discussions out there on setting up ESXi but most of the installs already have the host as a member of a domain.  For this install, I think I am attempting to put the domain dc on the host box so I am not sure what initial values to put in the host box for ip addresses and domain name.

Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dev

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
golddiggie
Champion
Champion

If you're thinking of getting the new hardware, replacing the old physical server, to run ESXi 4.x, then you can do it. I would actually plan on building the host while the old box is still online, make a new domain controller VM on the host, then retire the old domain controller once it's online. I would also suggest at least building up the VM's as single duty entities. Such as have the email server as one VM, SQL run on another, etc. If you're going to use just local storage on the host, then get at least 10k RPM SAS drives. 15k RPM drives will be better, with a solid RAID configuration (and controller). I would also opt to get enough Gb NIC's inside the host from the start. For a small deployment, using local SAS drives, you could probably get away with 4-6 ports. You can always add more later as you need. But, this way you'll be able to build in some redundancy, and account for bandwidth needs (expected now, with room to flex a bit).