VMware Cloud Community
filipe1
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi: Cannot boot into bootable usb

Hello,

First of all full disclosure I am not an expert at setting up ESXi, this is the first time I ever try to do something like this.

I am currently trying to install ESXi 7.0 on an old HP laptop with an Intel core i3 350M, the problem is that whenever I try to boot from my USB flash drive the laptop won't boot to the USB drive, it will just boot onto the existing OS in the device hard drive, I have virtualization enabled on my BIOS.

I have tried to flash the ISO image on the USB drive with Unetbootin, dd and with the default PopOs USB flasher, since my current OS is PopOS. At first I thought that my issue was the ISO file that was corrupted since after the first download I could not download it again as the vmware website would just redirect me to the myvmware homepage, after a lot of hopping between browsers with and without a VPN I was able to download ESXi 7.0 again and ESXi 6.5 and 5.5, the latter were downloaded since I thought that since the hardware is pretty old and these versions could have better hardware support, sadly it still wouldn't boot from the USB drive, then I tried to install the first ISO file I downloaded on my PopOS machine with VMware Workstation and it worked with no issues.

I also tried to boot from the USB on a more recent HP laptop with an Intel i3 2350M and it still won't boot from the USB drive, both CPU support VT-x and have virtualization enabled on the BIOS, after 6h trying to find solutions and people with the same issues as me, I gave up and resorted to this forum.

My questions are:

- Is my hardware not compatible at all? If so is this the reason why I'm not able to boot from the USB drive?

- Is my way of flashing the ISO images to the USB drive wrong?