VMware Cloud Community
telmoc
Contributor
Contributor

Doubts building all-in-one home server

Hi,

First, I'm new to the virtualization world, so beaware that I might say some stupid things.

My goal is to build a server at home, consisting mainly at a NAS and some other VMs (2 Linux and 2 Windows). In the perfect cenario, I wish to arrange it to fit all in one physical server for hardware and energy saving.

I have a HP ML110 G6 and a bunch of SATA drives.

My plan was to:

- install ESXi on a flash drive (obtaining spare hdd and energy save)

- install FreeNAS, OpenFiler or NexentaStor on a virtual machine (installed on a small data store created from another usb flash drive)

- install 3 HDD on the server for direct and exclusive access by de NAS virtual machine

- configure new ESXi data store linked to the NAS through iSCSI or NFS

It looks like a two layer "kind of" system because I need a VM for the NAS instalation that would then provide a new data store for ESXi.

Is this possible? Main doubts are:

- is it possible to add a data store out of a usb flash drive?

- is it possible to assign 3 HDD directly to the NAS virtual machine?

- how does ESXi will react to the iSCSI or NFS data store not being available on startup (because it will have to boot first the NAS virtual machine to make it available)?

The goal is to have a centralized storage system (the NAS) with both my data and the virtual machines. This way it would be a lot easier for me to make backups and control data growth and having a single piece of hardware provides energy saving that is crucial for a system running 24x7 at home Smiley Wink.

Thanks in advance.

Telmo

0 Kudos
5 Replies
mikelane
Expert
Expert

If you look at the napp-it project you can see some recommendations for an all in one box: http://www.napp-it.org/hardware/index_en.html

Installing ESXi on a jump drive is fine - are you installing the NAS VM on the same drive?