VMware {code} Community
CathyBr
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vSphere Client - editing custom role seems to break the definition.

Hi

I got an error message from our QA who discoved this problem.

We have custom roles - they are defined when our plugin is installed, and look like this (as seen in mob)

AuthorizationRole:

     info:

          description:

               label: Acme Authorization Role

               summary:  This is a role used in the acme plugin, bla bla bla

         name: com.acme.plugin.authRole

          privilege:  <list of privs>

     roleId: 123456

     system: false

After the user uses the Html Plugin, and adds/removes some privilges, the definition for the role (as seen in mob)

AuthorizationRole:

     info:

          description:

          label: Acme Authorization Role

          summary: Acme Authorization Role

     name: Acme Autorization Role

     privilege: <list of privs>

     roleId: 123456

     system: false

The problem here is that we search the roles to find our defintions, and since we use the name (com.acme.plugin.authRole) - ...

Is this problem known?

Cathy

Reply
0 Kudos
6 Replies
stoevm
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Cathy,

This is not a known problem.
Can you provide information about the environment setup.
By my observation it seems that the label gets copied to the summary and name properties.
You said that after you use the Html Plugin to add privileges.
Which Html Plugin ?
Also what kind of operations does this Html Plugin do ? 

Martin

Reply
0 Kudos
CathyBr
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Martin,

sorry for being so unpercise...

I just reproduced it to make sure - and I think I know why this happens.

I reproduced it on a vCenter Appliance Version 6.7.1 build 10244857

1) During the installation of our plug-in we create 4 custom roles.

2) Look at the MOB/AuthorizationManager/RoleList  and confirm that the definition is correct

3) Start the vSphere html Client, -> go to Administration->Roles

     Select the custom role, and click "edit"

     Add/Remove a privilege

     The next tab in this wizard has 2 inputs - Name, Summary.  In the Name Input you see the localized name of the Role, there is no text in the Summary Input (although there should be ....) - don't change anything here, just click ok.

4) Refresh the MOB, and you can see that the values have changed as described below.

In our plug-in, we just use the custom roles to determine what the current user can/can not perform.  We do not manipulate them at all.

If you have any more questions, don't hesitate to ask.

Cathy

Reply
0 Kudos
stoevm
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Cathy,

Thanks alot for the detailed answer, this was not a known issue.
I have raised a bug for this issue and we will start working on it soon.

Do you have a workaround for this problem ?

Martin,
Thanks

Reply
0 Kudos
CathyBr
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Martin,

thanks for the answer.  No, I don't have a workaround for the bug.

For us it means, that we will tell the customers NOT to change our custom role - They should not anyway, and probably do not.

Just out of interest, is it possible to set a role to "read only" , so it is not possible to change it?  Because that would help us with the problem.

Cathy

Reply
0 Kudos
CathyBr
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Martin,

our QA is waiting for some kind of timeline for this fix, do you have any information about it?

thanks

Cathy

Reply
0 Kudos
stoevm
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi CathyBr,

Thanks for raising this again,Together with some internal teams in VMware we narrowed down the problem and fixed it.

This fix should be available in an upcoming release.

Thanks,
Martin

Reply
0 Kudos