VMware {code} Community
acwang27
Contributor
Contributor

How to add an item to "Tasks (Console)" of vSphere Web Client

Hi all,

I am a total newbie in VMware SDK developing. I am trying to track action progress for my extension (plugin) using the Task Console but I could not find any sample code to help. I tried to piece the following code together but it was not working (no errors either).

ServiceContent service = getServiceContent(serverGuid)

// create task manager

// ManagedObjectReference taskMgrRef = service.getTaskManager();

// create scheduled task manager

ManagedObjectReference scheduledTaskMgrRef = service.getScheduledTaskManager();

// root folder

ManagedObjectReference rootFolder = service.getRootFolder();

// create scheduled task

ScheduledTaskSpec scheduledTaskSpec = new ScheduledTaskSpec();

scheduledTaskSpec.setName("TEST_SCHEDULE");

scheduledTaskSpec.setEnabled(Boolean.TRUE);

scheduledTaskSpec.setDescription("addAppliance-scheduledTask");

// set action

CreateTaskAction action = new CreateTaskAction();

action.setTaskTypeId("TEST_SCHEDULE_sampletask");

scheduledTaskSpec.setAction(action);

// set scheduler

OnceTaskScheduler onceTaskScheduler = new OnceTaskScheduler();

scheduledTaskSpec.setScheduler(onceTaskScheduler);

// set scheduler

OnceTaskScheduler onceTaskScheduler = new OnceTaskScheduler();

scheduledTaskSpec.setScheduler(onceTaskScheduler);

ManagedObjectReference scheduledTask = null;

try {

scheduledTask = _vimPort.createObjectScheduledTask(cheduledTaskMgrRef, rootFolder, scheduledTaskSpec);

} catch (DuplicateNameFaultMsg | InvalidNameFaultMsg | RuntimeFaultFaultMsg e) {

String errorMessage = String.format(
"An Exception Occurred while getCustomFieldDefs " +
"in addDatastore call, details - %s.",
e.getMessage());
     logger.log(Level.SEVERE, errorMessage);
     throw new VMwareRequestException(errorMessage);
    }