VMware Cloud Community
FreddyFredFred
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

help with user inputs

Hello,

I'm new to Orchestrator and I'm having a very difficult time getting started on a project. (this is with vcenter, no cloud stuff)

Basically I'm trying to setup a workflow that will probably be offered to users initially via the web interface that orchestrator provides but then we'd like to have another system start the process (by calling orchestrator via SOAP/REST to start a workflow and passing the parameters the workflow is expecting)

My problem is taking inputs and then figuring out how to reference datastores, folders, clusters, etc to deploy a VM from template.

In my system I will ask users to fill out some info (group, "level" of VM needed, OS) and then I'll figure out what to do on the back end.

For example, I present the user with a drop down list of predefined choices as to which group they are in. Suppose they choose ABC (which is defined as a string). How do I tell Orchestrator to create a VM in folder ABC? ( folder ABC already exists in vcenter).

Similarly, if they choose ABC, I would then clone the VM to datastore ABC but can't figure out how to do that. (If it was something like use datastore(ABC) or use datastore.name = ABC I would be fine but it seems I need to create objects of all kinds of different types and I'm having a hard time)

Can anyone help?

Thanks

0 Kudos
2 Replies
ChristianWehner
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi,

welcome to the vCO community (the best community around here Smiley Wink!! )

It is not as easy as I could present you a solution within one post here :smileyplain:

First you have to search the VmFolder Object by name and also all the other input you need to provision a virtual machine. I built you two sample actions to search a VmFolder and a Datastore by name which I couldn't upload at the moment :smileyconfused: I will send them to you by message.