VMware Cloud Community
pedjono
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

create vRO Action to return availiable AD:OrganizationUnits

Hi all,

I have googled this a lot as i thought I cant be the only person wanting to do it.. but I cant quite find something that will work..

I am new to using the AD plugin but I have it configured to see our DEV and Test domains etc..

What I want to do is have a drop down list of available OU's so that when someone is deploying a VM it joins the domain via customization spec and then is put in the selected OU..

I just want something to do a get and return the list of names that can then be selected from the drop down list..

I have found ways to return the info of an OU but that requires me typing in the name.. but we dont want people to type in the name, and I also want to allow for cases where they requested a new OU, to make sure it has been created first.. (NO vRO is not allowed to just go and create it.... "yet")

Any help appreciated.

Thank you,

Jono.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Sorry I misread your question... is there a reason just using a tree select for the OU won't do what you want?

Screen Shot 2019-08-19 at 12.18.39 AM.png

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was it helpful? Let us know by completing this short survey here.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

This will get you a list of the hosts then you can extract the information you need

var hosts = AD_HostManager.findAllHosts();

0 Kudos
pedjono
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Thanks for the response.. But it doesnt really help. I mean it does exactly what you said in that it returns a list of ADhosts..

Im guessing there's a bit of scripting required passed my experience level.. to get the list of OUs

0 Kudos
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution