VMware Cloud Community
AnotherPassword
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Using virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties to set IP information for VM using vRO 7.x

I have a blocking EB Subscription published.

Data/Lifecycle state/Lifecycle state name, Equals, “VMPSMasterWorkflow32.BuildingMachine“.

Data/Lifecycle state/Lifecycle state/State phase, Equals, PRE.
Data/Machine/Machine type, Equals, “Virtual Machine“.

It is attached to a workflow with 1 input 'payload' of type Properties and 1 output 'virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties' of type Properties. I use payload just to verifty that Iam receiving data.

I have a blueprint with a VM on it. Reservation policy's reservation has 1 network, a customization spec to join domain,clone from template, no Network properties, and 1 Custom property  Extensibility.Lifecycle.Properties.VMPSMasterWorkflow32.BuildingMachine with the value of * .

When I select the blueprint, I ge the payload in vRO and I can see properties so I know it is firing. I have read from an article using this method to set a customization spec name that I shoul d just be able to create an output paramater virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties and set the network in a scriptable task  information as so:

virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties = new Properties();
virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties.put("VirtualMachine.Network0.AddressType", 'Static');
virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties.put("VirtualMachine.Network0.Address", '10.7.128.28');
virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties.put("VirtualMachine.Network0.SubnetMask", '255.255.255.0');
virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties.put("VirtualMachine.Network0.Gateway", '10.7.128.3');
virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties.put("VirtualMachine.Network0.Name", '10.7.128.x');

I have the output parameter set and it DOES NOT update the IP, I just get an APIPA 169.x.x.x address.

Is it supposed to work this way in 7.x? Is the vCAC entity passed automatically to the workflow and I just use virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties/

thanks,

ds