VMware Cloud Community
WillUsher
Contributor
Contributor

Using the vSphere 5 API's for guest control (VcGuestOperationsManager)

Hi all,

Because VMware integrated the functions of the VIX API's into v5 of the vSphere API, I was looking to use vCO with the vSphere API's to interact with the guest OS.

However, I'm new to Orchestrator, and so far as I can tell, none of the prebuilt workflows leverage these new function (I have the VC 5.0 plugin installed).

I was wondering if anyone has used this before, and if you have any example workflows that I can reference. I'm looking to execute scripts within the guest OS, but any workflow that uses the VcGuestOperationsManager object attributes should give me everything I need.

http://www.vmware.com/support/orchestrator/doc/vco_vsphere50_api/html/VcGuestOperationsManager.html#...

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
13 Replies
tschoergez
Leadership
Leadership

Hi!

Unfortunately I don't have access to a 5er-environment right now. But THEORETICAL you could use the GuestOperationsManager in this way:

var sdkCon = vm.sdkConnection;
var gom = sdkCon.guestOperationsManager;
var procman = gom.processManager;

var programSpec = new VcGuestProgramSpec();
programSpec.programPath = "c:/myscripts/anyscript.bat";

//authentication stuff....
var vga = gom.authManager.acquireCredentialsInGuest(vm, ........);

var result = procman.startProgramInGuest(vm,vga,programSpec);

Disclaimer :smileysilly: : That's only a from-mind-script, I have not even executed once!

For further "investigation" you can try to "translate" William Lam's perl-stuff to vCO (good read anyway):

http://www.virtuallyghetto.com/2011/07/automating-new-integrated-vixguest.html

His script:

http://vghetto.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/vghetto/scripts/guestOpsManagement.pl?revision=159&view=ma...

Good luck :smileylaugh:!

Regards,

Joerg

WillUsher
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Joerg,

Thanks, that's helpful to get the idea of what I need to do.