VMware Cloud Community
ChrisNaisbitt
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Issue deploying Orchestrator plug-in for vSphere Web Client

Hi,

I'm new to Orchestrator and trying to build out VRO v8.1 environment in a lab. After a few false starts I've got the VRO appliance up and running and linked it to a vCenter which I can browse in the inventory. I'm now trying to deploy the Orchestrator plug-in for vSphere Web Client using the "Register vCenter Orchestrator as a vCenter Server extension" workflow but it's failing to register the plug-in (the workflow itself succeeds).

I fear I may have caused this myself as before I attempted the deployment I followed the instructions here to update to the latest plugin version. I possibly should have followed the steps on the release page for the plug-in instead as it mentions taking note of the file permissions before uploading the latest version of the Zip file to Orchestrator which I did not do. I've tried to copy the permissions of another plug-in in the same directory but I don't know if these are correct. This is what the permissions are currently set to:

pastedImage_5.png

When I run the workflow it succeeds but when I look at the plug-in's in vCenter it shows as deployment failed and the error is that the Orchestrator appliance is returning error 500 when vCenter tries to download the plugin. I've tried accessing the URL directly from a browser and I get the same result. I did notice that the URL has what looks like an extra "/" after the FQDN of the appliance, not sure if this is the issue or expected but I did make sure not to include a slash when entering the FQDN of the VRO appliance in the workflow - https://<FQDN>//vco/vsphere-web-client/vco-plugin.zip

This is the error in vCenter:

pastedImage_0.png

I'm running:

vCenter 6.7.0.42000

vRealize Orchestrator 8.1.0.15962410 as a single node not part of VRA

Orchestrator plug-in for vSphere Web Client 7.4.0.13701555