VMware Cloud Community
rubberduck70
Contributor
Contributor

Creating custom workflow for deployment - NEED HELP

Hi guys

We currently have an orchestrator setup running in our environment and I require some assistance in tweaking the current workflow we use for our automated deployments. I'm a self-taught Orchestrator noobie and have two things I need assistance on Smiley Happy

1) The current workflow is similar to VMware's default : Clone virtual machine from template, single NIC with customization and sysprep. For those who are familiar with this, you select your compute and network resources from a list, specify the VM and hostname of client etc. So instead of choosing a datastore to deply to, I would like to point to a datastore cluster. The same goes for the host to deploy to - I would like to deploy to a HA DRS cluster and let the cluster decide where to place the VM. By using the aforementioned type workflow, you cannot select how many CPU's and memory you would like (as it is derived from template). So the add on would be to let the user choose how many vCPU's and memory they would like and then on provisioning, it will change the spec of the VM.

2) Is there a training video / material out there that could assist in learning the basic code behind orchestrator and how the binding types work with scriptable tasks, action elements etc?

I could even extract the workflow config if it will help to assist.

thanks again guys!

12 Replies
Burke-
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I don't have time to go into a detailed response for you on bullet 1 right now, but for bullet two, check out:

vCenter Orchestrator - VMware Learning

And, of course, you should already have the following three blogs bookmarked if you are working with vCO:

http://www.vcoteam.info - my & Christophe's blog

http://www.vcoportal.de - Joerg Lew's blog

http://blogs.vmware.com/orchestrator - Official VMware blog for vCO