VMware Cloud Community
lmonaco
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Convert vCAC Designer workflow to a vCO workflow.

I'm currently using vCAC Designer to modify the WFStubMachineProvisioned workflow to call a PowerShell script to add a DNS record.

In the script, I collect the info below, then use it later in the script to add the records. Works great.

$Hostname = $Properties["VirtualMachineName"]

$IPAddress = $Properties["VirtualMachine.Network0.Address"]

$ZoneName = $Properties["ZoneName"]

How would I go about doing this in vCO?

I do have the vCAC 6.0 extensibility package installed in vCO 5.5, but I'm new to vCO and am looking for an example of how to pull and pass vCAC VM properties in a PowerShell script.

14 Replies
qc4vmware
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

There is a sample template which will get you started at Libraray\vCloud Automation Center\Extensibility\Workflow Template .  This is a good item to duplicate and start creating your workflow.  I also created this action which will pull pretty much everything I need into one properties type.  Then you can just do allProps.get("whateverpropertyyouneed");  In this example I am using a call to a couple of other actions I have posted on here recently.  One that gets the vCenter vm from the vCAC vm and one the gets the vCACHost from the vCACVm.  This way only have to pass the action the vCACVM.  For some reason neither of those things is a simple attribute of the vCACVM:VirtualMachine object type.  Just look at my other recent posts and you can grab the sample code for those actions.

var allProps = new Properties();

var virtualMachineEntity = vCACVm.getEntity();

// System.log("Got vCAC virtual machine " + vCACVm.virtualMachineName);

// System.log("Matching virtual machine entity " + virtualMachineEntity.keyString);

var vCenterVm = System.getModule("com.qualcomm.basic").QCgetvCenterVmFromvCACVm(vCACVm);

var vCACVmProperties = vCACVm.getEntity().getProperties();

if (vCenterVm != null) {