VMware Cloud Community
maureenkelly
Contributor
Contributor

Clone, Linux with multiple NICs - Error - getCustomizationIPSettings

Using vCenter & Orchestrator 4.1.0 and I'm relatively new to both.

I'm trying to create a simple workflow using the Clone, Linux with multiple NICs built-in workflow.  I'm allowing my user to specify the following:

• hostname (clientName)
  • the VM name
  • number of NICs (max of 2)
  • nic1/nic2 info (IP, gateway, subnet mask, DNS server list, network, and DNS domain)
  • the Linux VM template to clone from

a.)  When I run the workflow, I can't select one of the available networks to use for each NIC.  The select button is greyed out.  So just to test it out, I skip this field and submit the form with the data that I can add.  I see the description for nic1Network that says "no NIC is defined if network is not specified" so I assume this is the reason for the failure noted next.

b.)  This workflow fails with the following error message: "Unable to create Nic Setting Map: [object Error] (Dynamic Script Module name : getCustomizationIPSettings#28)"

Am I getting this error because I'm not selecting the network for each NIC or is this another issue alltogether?  And why would I not be able to select the network?

Thank you,

Maureen

0 Kudos
7 Replies
tschoergez
Leadership
Leadership

Hi!

I think the error is related to the issue that you haven't select a Network.

Do you use Standard vSwitches or Distributed Switches in your environment?

Can you provide a screenshot of the dialog where you usually should choos the network?

Regards,

Joerg

0 Kudos
maureenkelly
Contributor
Contributor

I'm not certain on the switch types but I believe they are standard switches.  I removed the IPs and any proprietary data from the screenshot simply for example.  But I think it conveys what I mentioned above.  No matter what network I click on, the "Select" button is greyed out.

screenshot_selectNetwork.jpg

0 Kudos
tschoergez
Leadership
Leadership