VMware Cloud Community
Bacon_Phat
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vROps 6.0.1 - Track changes to individual VMDKs (e.x. VMDK I/O)

DISCLAIMER: I am new to vRealize, please be gentle- use big pictures and small words.....

During my latest run at VMWorld, I spent time with the vRealize Operations Engineers and we were trying to get details on how I can monitor for IOPS of a VMDK.  I realize that a TON has changed in v6 so I am hoping this is an option.

Scenario: Multiple VMs on a single datastore, I am trying to isolate a single VM running 5 VMDK's within the shared Datastore- 4 VMDK's are used for databases/transaction logs, on high speed storage.  I am also able to allocate a dedicated amount of IOPS to a Datastore, 15,000 IOPS, from the array.

Discussion question: How do I generate a report (preferably via vRealize) on if I am actually utilizing or able to utilize the full 15,000 IOPS per VMDK? How can I report on each VMDK's use/utilization?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
greco827
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

From the VM object level, you can view each individual .vmdk's performance.  VM --> Troubleshooting --> All Metrics --> Virtual Disk --> scsix:x

Aside from coming up with a clever super metric, you'd have to manually take inventory of which VM's have which .vmdk's on which datastore and what those .vmdk's scsi target number is, and then look at each one and create an aggregate manually.  There may be better ways to do this, through powershell or super metrics, but the data is there to be collected one way or another.

vROps_DiskIO_VM.jpg

If you find this or any other answer useful please mark the answer as correct or helpful https://communities.vmware.com/people/greco827/blog

View solution in original post

7 Replies
mark_j
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution