VMware Cloud Community
ITJef
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Agents Communicating

I am new to VROPS. How can i tell which horizon VDI machines are sending data to VROPS and which ones are having issues and not sending data? At times i can go into vrops and view current stats like latency and cpu and processes and at times this data is not available for certain machines. I have rebooted the workstations but can't tell in the VROPs console how to determine if the machine is sending data.

Also i am seeing messages that say "not receiving data from the desktop agent" in the console for some machines and not others. It would be nice to have a list of all machines and the current status.

we are using vrops 6.6.1.6163035

0 Kudos
5 Replies
sxnxr
Commander
Commander

Vrops collects data from from the adapter sources. The sources ( VDI desktops) do not send data to vrops. If you have no data on an object there is normally one of 3 reasons for it

1. That adapter's user account does not have permissions to the object
  2. The metric is not configured in the policy to collect.
  3. The time frame you have selected is before the time of first collection

The easiest way to check if you are having collection problems is

1. to go to the administration tab
  2. select configuration
  3. expand inventory explorer
  4. expand adapter instances
  5. select and expand your adapter in question
  6. select the configured adapter name

The collection state indicates whether vrops should be collecting data for the object

The Collection Status column indicates whether vrops is receiving data for the adapter instance object.

You can do this on an object in environment and select the VM on the top right you will see the two status above

the error you are getting "not receiving data from the desktop agent" is at a guess a Horizon view error in the view admin console as i dont recognise it as a vrops error. If so i dont use view so i cant help with that sorry

0 Kudos
ITJef
Enthusiast
Enthusiast