VMware Cloud Community
rubberduck70
Contributor
Contributor

vRealize 6.2 - How to perform guest customization / create blueprint with custom input fields for guest customization

Hi guys

Trusting you are well! I'm fairly new to vRealize 6.2 - coming from good old Orchestrator and hoping to transition to using vRealize 6.2. I managed to setup the instance and clone my first machine - I do however would like to know how I can edit my blueprint in order to set my own custom fields for customization. Things like sysprep, setting hostnames, IP addresses etc? Does this require additional orchestrator workflows etc and how does it work?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
GrantOrchardVMw
Commander
Commander

Another opportunity to say..... it depends!

I'm going to assume that you're running on a vSphere environment. Here goes:

1. Sysprep will be handled by the Customization Specification that you define in the Blueprint. This needs to correlate to the Customization Spec name defined in vCenter.

2. Hostnames can be handled either by defining Machine Prefixes, or by using the vRO workflow created by Tom Bonnano.

3. IP Addresses will typically come from the Network Profiles defined in vRA, or alternatively by calling out to IPAM with vRO at the BuildingMachine workflow stub.

Now, just because those examples are handled natively doesn't mean that everything else is. I see quite a lot of custom properties being used to pull inputs into vRO (whether for guest agent details or vRO native inputs).

If you want a deeper dive on the custom properties shout out and I'll jot down some notes.

Cheers,

Grant

Grant http://grantorchard.com
0 Kudos
rubberduck70
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Grant

Thanks for the reply! I'm still grasping on how everything fits together using vRA, so yes please, any info will be more than welcome!

With regards to what I would like to achieve - currently we use a built-in workflow from Orchestrator and have modified it with the following properties: