VMware Cloud Community
craigso
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vRA IPAM SDK - How to make changes to the schema?

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to read this thread. Let me start out by saying I'm fairly new to vRA development so perhaps I'm taking the wrong approach.

Background:

My team has been tasked with building a custom IPAM connector/plugin for our open source IPAM solution. We've started by grabbing the vRA 7.3 IPAM SDK package and documentation and getting that imported into our development environment. While we are still digging into the SDK and crafting it to our needs, I had a few questions about the IPAM schema and how data is presented in vRA.

The issue:

We will be interacting with our IPAM solution via it's restful API. Authorization to the API requires a username, password, and a security key. The add and edit endpoint page allows for input of the following properties (below). I would like to also take input of a SecureString for the API key so this can easily be used within workflows.

pastedImage_2.png

From what I can tell, the bottom 3 fields are configured via the schema as shown below:

{

"id": "address",

"label": "Address",

"description": null,

"dataType": {

"type": "primitive",

"typeId": "STRING"

},

"displayAdvice": null,

"orderIndex": 1,

"permissibleValues": null,

"state": {

"dependencies": [],

"facets": [

{

"type": "mandatory",

"value": {

"type": "constant",

"type": "boolean",

"value": true

}

}

}

]

},

"isMultiValued": false,

"columns": null

},

{

"id": "username",

"label": "User name",

"typeId": "STRING"

},

"orderIndex": 2,

{

}

}

}

]

},

},

{

"id": "password",

"label": "Password",

"typeId": "SECURE_STRING"

},

"orderIndex": 3,

{

}

}

}

]

},

},

Solution?

I'm wondering, is it possible to add additional fields to this endpoint page? If so, do I need to do that via somehow updating the schema (ipam_endpoint_class_id) with the additional field? Again excuse me if I'm taking the wrong approach.