VMware Cloud Community
rishabmehta
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

vCO Installing application from host machine to clients

Hi guys i am very new to cloud virtualization vmware tools etc, I have just started using vCO and trying to perform simple tasks. I was wondering if the following task can be automated using a workflow.

say i want to install an application on a VM.

i have the iso file for the application called app.iso on the C drive of my machine.

when i power on a VM i can manually add an iso from "connect/disconnect the cd/dvd devices of VM > cd/dvd device > connect to ISO on local disk"

but is there a way to do it using a workflow?

the workflow should ask for the VM and the location of the iso file on disk

if not can i add the iso from a datastore

and is there an action/workflow to upload a file from local disk to datastore?

after getting the iso how do i make the installer work and how do i automate the options to be selected on the installer. For eg selecting the product keys from a file that contains the list, selecting the location of installation etc.

thanks in advance

3 Replies
willonit
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I think what you are trying to do is a little out of scope for just vCO. I believe there is a workflow to mount an ISO from datastore such that you could have a repository on a datastore that contained all of your ISOs and mount from here. As far as conducting the installation of the application, there is a run script in guest workflow but that will simply allow you to run a line in a command prompt. If the application can be installed with an answer file you might be able to get away with doing it that way. However, you will have a very difficult time determining the status of the installation.