VMware Cloud Community
tarunemany
Contributor
Contributor

set Custom properties from vCAC

Hi,

I am trying to provisioning a VM from vCAC. I want to set custom property such as "rootpassword" while provisioning.

How can I do that from vCAC. I am new to vCAC. Please help.

I have gone through this http://pubs.vmware.com/vCAC-60/topic/com.vmware.ICbase/PDF/vcloud-automation-center-60-custom-proper... document, but I couldn't find.

Thanks

0 Kudos
4 Replies
willonit
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I assume you are wanting that custom property to set the root password on the machine. There are 2 ways to go about about it. On option is to install the vRA guest agent on the machine you are cloning and use a script on the template to set the root password. See this guide as a reference vRealize Automation 6.2 - Specifying a New Root Password Using Custom Properties.‌ Alternatively, if you do not want to use the guest agent you can use a vCO workflow to execute the commands required to change the root password. Here is a guide and link to a workflow to do that. Adding Local Admin Without the Guest Agent‌. It was created for adding a local admin to a windows guest but could be easily modified to support linux as well. 

0 Kudos
tarunemany
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for quick response..

My actual scenario is I am cloning vCO VM using vCAC. I am able to configure ip address using "VirtualMachine.NetworkN.Address" this property in vCAC.

But, I need to set other custom properties while provisioning, properties like  "varoot-password"  and "vcoconf-password" while provisioning from vCAC. How can I do this ?

In general, can i configure the properties in OVF file using vCAC?

0 Kudos
willonit
Hot Shot
Hot Shot