VMware Cloud Community
mckennapl
Contributor
Contributor

Question on Linking Output to Input parameters for XaaS Components

Hello and happy November!

I'm relatively new to the vRA arena and have been struggling with an issue in one of our workflows for a while. We have a XaaS component that relies on the output of one of the previous XaaS components to use as an input. Before the workflow kicks off, Pool1 doesn't exist, so I can't add a member to it in the next component in the workflow. Here it is in a nutshell:

*A pool is created without any members, the pool name is Pool1

*A pool member, PoolMem1 is created and needs to be added to Pool1

The problem comes when I'm trying to specify that PoolMem1 needs to go into Pool1, because Pool1 doesn't actually exist yet; it's created during the workflow. I need to map the output of the first component (in this case Pool1), to the second component in the workflow, so that PoolMem1 has a pool to go into. This seems like such a common scenario that I feel like I'm totally missing something that should be very obvious to me.

Anyone have experience with this? I really appreciate any insight!

Thanks!

3 Replies
mhampto
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

0 Kudos
mckennapl
Contributor
Contributor

I appreciate the link. I did see this, but it's quite old (4 years), and is targeted toward vRO. This may be the road I have to head down, but was really hoping it was easier/more obvious in vRA 7.3.

0 Kudos
jasnyder
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Can you expand on what you're trying to do here?  What have you tried that didn't work?

It kind of sounds like you have a composite blueprint.  Within that blueprint you have two XaaS components you've added to the canvas.  So you want to call XaaS component 1, which will create a pool, then XaaS blueprint 2 which will take the output of blueprint 1 and add a member to that pool?