VMware Cloud Community
Zenkre
Contributor
Contributor

Limit total deployments of a project by specified user

I am hoping to have an Orchestrator validation that checks how many times a username has deployed the same catalogue item and limit any further requests based on that number.

I do not see any policies and even the Max. instances per request in service broker only denies instances per request and not per user total.

I am new to scripting in general so i don't know if it is even possible to pull a list of deployments where I could use the usernames to check against.

Any help is appreciated, vRA 8.4

0 Kudos
5 Replies
emacintosh
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I won't claim this is the best way or even a good way, but first thought that comes to mind is to keep track of it in a config element in vRO - maybe a config element per catalog item with a number attribute for each user?

Then when the deployment kicks off, increment the number for that user's attribute for the given catalog's config element - I believe all of that info would be available either in inputProperties or one of the metadata fields.

To "validate", I see two options - either fail the deployment after submitted based on that number.  Or add that number as a hidden input on the form (requiring a vro action to go get it from the config element).  And then do some form validation on whether the user has hit their limit for this catalog item already.

Admittedly, if you're new to vRO and scripting then the learning curve for this may be a bit too steep and would be difficult to work through on a thread like this.  So you may still be better off looking for a newer or more proper way to handle, as this approach may be a bit "old school".  Or if you can open a case for vmware to see if they can help?

Zenkre
Contributor
Contributor

Yes I was considering something like that as well and while I am full of ideas on how it could work its the scripting implementation that is the wall for me.