VMware Cloud Community
_MikeW_
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Event Broker to trigger when MachineProvisioned and move to VM Folder

I'm still really new to vRA/vRO and trying to wrap my head around some of the concepts. To that end I've been trying to make a simple event that will move a VM to a specific folder after provisioning for the VM takes place.

I've setup the event with the proper conditions and receive the "payload" of "Extensibility.Lifecycle.Properties.VMPSMasterWorkflow32.MachineProvisioned.*". I've logged those values to see what they were.

My problem now is trying to move the VM using those properties. I can't seem to find a "getVirtualMachine()" method that will take the "machine.id" property so that I can apply it to the Move virtual machine workflow (one that comes with vRO).

I've been digging around trying to figure out if I can pass that data directly to the event but finding the variables to expose seems to be ... difficult.

Can someone suggest a process that will allow me to follow this through to the end? If I can find a way to hand off the VCVirtualMachine  value to the workflow that would be easiest but if I could also find a method to get that using the machine.id from the payload properties that also would allow me to do it.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
_MikeW_
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

So I spent sometime over the weekend working on this and tried to use some of the examples provided but it just wasn't coming together. I did figure out how to get it to work and here are the specifics.

Blueprint, I set a custom property option: "VMware.VirtualCenter.Folder". This I don't think was necessary.

Event-Broker/Subscription. I created an event with conditions on a virtual machine build, waitingtobuild and "pre".

For the workflow I created a attribute "vmFolder". I could probably just use an input. Set to type string and the value to "Provisioned".

Inputs added, "payload" of type properties.