VMware Cloud Community
SENNAF1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Designate a VM in Active Directory?

I am very new to VRA been using it and vRO for only a couple of weeks.  I am trying to come up with a way to designate a new request or a machine provisioned through vRA in MS Active Directory.   I have an application that will scan almost anything in AD OU, Attribute, Part of the name and import it into the application. I just need a way to designate it from the rest. 

We have discussed the following and keep getting roadblocks.

SCAN OU

In my blueprint I have a dropdown that lets the user select the OU to place the machine in.  So a new provisioned VM goes into a OU, but there are other computer accounts in that OU and I do not want all of them to be imported.

The only thing I can think of would be to have vRA add a custom attribute to the VM.  I do not even know how to start this.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

Shaft

0 Kudos
9 Replies
SENNAF1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Is there a way to add a Active Directory attributes to new machines added to AD by vRA?

0 Kudos
sbeaver
Leadership
Leadership