VMware Cloud Community
abdelazizRaji
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Blueprint multiple VM inventory file

Hi All

I am Just getting started with VRA and have a couple of blueprints that will deploy a set of VM's  and  I am basically looking for the easiest way to get a host file of hostname/ip address post-deployment that I can then feed to ansible for post deployments tasks .

just a pointer to the right direction will be very helpful.

Best.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

If you have vRA Enterprise, yes, one option is with software components. But it's doing somewhat of double duty because you're boostrapping a bootstrapper. If you're not using Tower, which makes it more difficult, there are some options spelled out here. For Ansible without Tower, what I've used, which solves the multiple VMs case, is to execute Ansible directly on the control machine with LCT. Doesn't matter how many VMs in the deployment, for each one it can pass the hostname and/or IP for the playbook to run against.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was it helpful? Let us know by completing this short survey here.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Please describe more what you hope to achieve with Ansible as it makes a difference.

0 Kudos
abdelazizRaji
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks for the quick reply .

The ansible script will just install and configure the different VM's based on their role in the blueprint like any multi tier app (kubernetes, hadoop, spark cluster is a good example ) .

0 Kudos
daphnissov
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution