VMware Cloud Community
LenK
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Add or Update Property using Event Broker Subscription

Is anyone using workflow subscriptions to add or update virtual machine properties during event topic Machine Provisioning?

I have a simple subscription defined that’s called for all conditions where Lifecycle State Name = VMPSMasterWorkflow32.Requested to experiment with something like custom host naming in vRO.  My WF is setup with an input variable named “payload” of type Properties and I have no problem reading the properties passed from vRA to vRO but I’m not sure how to modify something like Hostname.

In the documentation I see the following schema for the event data payload:

{

machine : {

id                : STRING,      /* IaaS machine ID */

name              : STRING,      /* machine name */

externalReference : STRING, /* machine ID on the hypervisor */

owner             : STRING,      /* machine owner */

type              : INTEGER,     /* machine type: 0 - virtual machine; 1 - physical machine; 2 - cloud machine */

properties        : Properties   /* machine properties, see notes below how to expose virtual machine properties */           

},

blueprintName   : STRING,      /* blueprint name */

componentId     : STRING,      /* component id */

componentTypeId : STRING,      /* component type id */

endpointId      : STRING, /* endpoint id */

requestId       : STRING,      /* request id */

lifecycleState  : { /* see Life Cycle State Definitions*/

state : STRING,

phase : STRING,

event : STRING

},

virtualMachineEvent                 : STRING,     /* fire an event on that machine - only processed by Manager Service as consumer */

workflowNextState : STRING,     /* force the workflow to a specific state - only processed by Manager Service as consumer */

virtualMachineAddOrUpdateProperties : Properties, /* properties on the machine to add/update - only processed by Manager Service as consumer */