VMware Cloud Community
RichardL-Moto
Contributor
Contributor

vMotion stack questions - 1st time poster

Please move if this is the wrong Forum.

I am REAL new to VMware but have been tasked to determine some viability.  I work at Motorola and I am an RF engineer so Networking knowledge is limited to my RNI (Radio network infrastructure)  We use as the back bone for many of our containers straight ESXI  v6 flavor. They run on DL380 Gen8 up to Gen10 depending on the size of our radio core. We have a request to determine for a customer the posibility of introducing vCenter to mange our two hosts so a third host in a (stuff hitting the fan scenario would further maintain core funtionality) Let me explain. 

We have two VMS's each running 5-6 containers, mostly all linux with two windows DC's. Our Zone Controller container, the most critical has ZC1 on one host and ZC2 on a second host.  We have propriatary software that handles the heart beeting and health of each ZC instance. One is always active the other is on Standy with exact, realtime copies of the ZC database.  I am not looking to vmotioning those, it would be unsupported by Moto. Our Setup works unbelievably fast when we force a ZC roll.

What this customer is asking us is it possible to introduce a third host, under a vcenter umbrella for all three and then if VMS01 AND VMS02 seem to be in distress, could we vmotion the ZC VM to a third host. They realize if it is possible the recovery time would be seconds as compared to ms that the two VMS enjoy.  So with this basic background and with almost zero knowledge, I am trying to wrap my head around multi nic vmotion and three hosts and doing it without physical switches if possible.

Our VMS are loaded with unused Nics. I think we have 14 nics, 5 are used. Of the unused one we have an HPE Ethernet 10Gb 2-port 530T on each of the 2 DL280 Gen10 servers. I do not have a 10GB card on the 3rd new host YET. Willing to purchase based on responses here.